Skip to content

General Visa regulations to Denmark


Schengen visas are issued by: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The purpose of applying a visa requirement to citizens of certain countries is to control who can enter and visit Denmark and the other Schengen countries. The Schengen countries normally decide cooperatively which nationalities the visa requirement will be applied to. The countries are selected with consideration to immigration and security issues, as well as political concerns.

In order to fully understand the regulations and requirements involved in your visa application we strongly recommend that you read all the information on this page.

If you wish to visit Denmark for a short period of time, you must obtain a visa prior to entry if you come from a country with a visa requirement for entering Denmark. Please see the list of nationals who do not need a visa to visit Denmark ( If you have been granted certain types of residence or re-entry permits in another Schengen country, you do not need a visa to enter Denmark or another Schengen country residence permits issued by another Schengen country (

If you hold a residence card issued under the EU regulations on free movement, you do not need a visa to enter Denmark. This applies to both residence cards issued in accordance with Directive 2004/38/EC and residence cards issued before this directive took effect. This can be either a credit card size plastic card or a residence sticker in your passport.

A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than 3 months or take up employment or establish a business, trade or profession.

A visa normally grants you the right to stay in the entire Schengen region for a maximum of 90 days within a 6 month period.

A visa does not allow you to work in Denmark. However, during visits of less than 3 months you may carry out certain work-related activities without holding a work permit. More information is available on the website of the Danish Immigration Service about visas and work permits ( - Visa or work permit?).

The issue of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on the examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return.

Please note that you must travel within 3 months from the date of issue of the visa.

If you already hold a valid Schengen visa (if you have not used up all the days on the visa) and you wish to apply for a new visa, you must first have the valid visa cancelled by the issuing country's embassy.

Apart from these so called short-term or travel visas there is one other type of Schengen visa:
• An airport transit visa allows holders to pass through the international zone of an airport of a Schengen member state without access to the national territory of the Schengen member state.
Nationals of the following countries require an airport transit visa to transit through a Danish airport: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Congo(The Democratic Republic), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka, unless they are residents of an EU member state, an EEA country, USA or Canada with permission to return at least 3 months after transiting Denmark.

Please note that an airport transit visa is not required for Indian nationals in possession of a valid visa or residence permit to an EU or EEA country, USA or Canada.

Please note that the documents required for an airport transit visa may differ from those required for the short stay entry visa.
The following visa information concerns applications for short term visas only:
Please note that even if you hold of a Schengen visa you are still subject to immigration control and are not guaranteed entry into any of the Schengen countries.

A normal Schengen visa is not valid for the Faroe Islands or Greenland. If you are travelling to these destinations you will need to have a Schengen visa issued by a Danish mission with the wording in the comments section on the visa: "Valid for the Faroe Islands" or "Valid for Greenland".